Wk2 – GLAMFA Artist – Augusto Sandroni

Augusto Sandroni

On December 2005, my uncle Manuel drove my brother and I down to Mexico for the first time. It was such a great experience that I convinced my dad to drive us down to Mexico one summer. So in the summer of 2007, my dad drove us down to Mexico for a family vacation and he enjoyed it so much that we took another drive down to Mexico the following year. The reason I talk about my family trips is because when I first saw this art work, it brought back memories when my family and I drove down to Guanajuato, Mexico. As we sat in a car for 4 days, my sibling and I would find ways to distract us from the drive. So we would watch movies, play games, eat snacks, and at some point of the day, I would sit in the car and stare at the wind shield, watching the mountains far away from us, and an endless road. That’s exactly what i see in this art piece.  

Augusto Sandroni is the artist of this art piece. You can distinguish the different types of materials involve in this art work. Sandroni grew up in New York city around the 80’s and most of his drawings, paintings and artworks are inspired by his childhood. The material he uses to create his art work are oils, acrylics, and everyday materials (for example: reclaimed wood, burlap, cardboard, duct tape).  

Leave a Reply

